Congratulations to Lucy Zou (pictured left), East Brunswick High School. Lucy is the 2018 VFW District 8 winner of the Voice of Democracy essay competition. Our post is proud to have sponsored Lucy.

Congratulations to Mackenzie Wilson (center, above) and Christin Perrine (not pictured) for representing our post as finalists in the 2018 Voice of Democracy and Patriot's Pen essay competitions.

VOICE OF DEMOCRACY - The Voice of Democracy is open to students in grades 9-12, who are enrolled in a public, private or parochial high school or home study program in the United States, its territories and possessions; or in an overseas U.S. military/civilian dependent school. Foreign exchange students, students age 20 or over and previous Voice of Democracy first place state winners are ineligible.

click here for entry information

PATRIOT'S PEN - Patriot's Pen is open to 6th - 8th grade students enrolled in public, private or parochial schools in the U.S., its territories or its possessions. Home-schooled students also are eligible. Dependents of U.S. military or civilian personnel in overseas schools can participate too. (Foreign exchange students and former winners that placed in the National finals are excluded from the contest.)

click here for entry information

SCOUT OF THE YEAR - Scouts who are registered, active members of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew, or a Sea Scout Ship who have received the Eagle Scout Award, Girl Scout Gold Award, Venture Silver Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award. Scouts must be 15 years of age and have demonstrated practical citizenship in school, scouting and the community. Scouts must be enrolled in high school at the time of selection. click here for entry information

TEACHER OF THE YEAR- All current classroom teachers (teaching at least half of the school day in a classroom environment) in grades K-12 are eligible. Previous state and national VFW winners are ineligible. Nominations can be submitted by fellow teachers, supervisors or other interested individuals (not relatives).

click here for nomination information